Nov 112018

Another parkrun Saturday, another Claremont winner!  Congratulations to Jason Hall on coming first at Stewart parkrun in Middlesborough!

Newcastle parkrun:

20:54   Sarah Kerr
22:51   Luke Woodend
22:52   Arthur Win Sun Liu
23:00   David Devennie
24:20   Brian Hegarty
25:21   Dave Kear
25:53   Mungai Wairia
27:43   Chris Carr


Stewart parkrun, Middlesbrough:

18:12   Jason Hall   1st place, PB



Whitley Bay parkrun:

31:34   Dean O’Brien

Gibside parkrun:

26:52   Graham Leslie
34:04   Marga Burke-Lowe

Rising Sun parkrun:

19:59   Matthew Kerry

Croxteth Hall parkrun:

19:54   Tom Tinsley   81.32% WAVA

 November 11, 2018  Posted by at 8:25 am Results No Responses »
Oct 102018

Ten Claremonters went for a “Run and Talk” along the Quayside for World Mental Health Day. Many thanks to Cath Robson and Nina for organizing this.

 October 10, 2018  Posted by at 7:04 pm Club News No Responses »
Oct 072018

Ay Okpokam and Michael Teasdale report on the opening Harrier League fixture at Wrekenton:

Ay writes:

As cross-country novices, Tara and Michael and I arrived at Wrekenton with a mixture of excitement and apprehension. Though it was sunny, there was enough of a breeze to keep things comfortable. All the club tents and banners on the field created quite the spectacle.

After the juniors’ race, it was time for the senior women to set off.

Two 1.8 miles loops turned out to be pretty challenging, thanks to a couple of hills. There were definitely less smiles 2nd time around! There was a decent turnout of Claremont ladies, with some strong performances as well.

All the pain was forgotten by the time we got back to the tent and had some of the lovely cakes!

We enjoyed this ‘light introduction’ (as it was dry and there was no mud!) to cross country and are looking forward to the next one!

And Michael writes:

When the senior men’s race started what caught me totally unawares as a novice I XC was how uneven the surface was underfoot and how much more tiring running on it is.

We had three laps of the 1.8 mile loop to run and Bill’s warning about the headwinds were by no means unfounded. You try to tuck in behind another runner but you don’t always find yourself amongst other runners whose statures provided the most shelter.

The women, refreshed and replenished with cake after their race, had taken up position on the crest of the last hill of the lap to cheer us on.

Unfortunately Daniel Mourenza had to withdraw early in the race and David Lydall had taken a fall but carried on – I encountered him being seen to by medics as I crossed the line.

Hills and headwinds are never fun, but I was pleased to have completed my first XC race.

Jun 212018

Thanks to everybody who competed in, marshaled or officiated at the 2018 Weetslade Relays on Wednesday 20th June.  We hope you enjoyed it.

2018 Results

1. Morpeth Harriers
    Jordan Scott, Jane Hodgson, Lewis Timmins 41:46
2. Tyne Bridge Harriers
    Megan Parkin, Paul Turnbull, James Dunce 45:21

Fastest Man                          13:15  Lewis Timmins (Morpeth)
Fastest Male Veteran          15:47 Brendan McMillan (Jarrow & Hebburn)
Fastest Woman                    15:47 Dani Smyth (Heaton)
Fastest Female Veteran     15:05 Jane Hodgson (Morpeth)


 June 21, 2018  Posted by at 2:12 pm Results, Weetslade No Responses »
May 132018

Newcastle parkrun:

20:00   Roberto Marzo
20:07   John Lea-Wilson
20:57   Gordon MacFadyen
21:07   Mungai Wairia
21:30   Luke Woodend
22:32   Alan Dunning
23:00   Dan Edwards
24:30   Dave Kear
24:53   Francesco Carrer
25:26   Rose Hawkswood
26:43   Alice Vialard
26:45   Serpil Bulut
26:54   Alex Anslow
27:12   Andrea Saliba

Prudhoe Riverside parkrun:

21:54   Chris Jones

St Helens parkrun:

20:22   Tom Tinsley

Gateshead parkrun:

20:59   Paul Robinson
31:34   Dave Manners

Skipton parkrun:

22:14   Lucy Dunbar

Cirencester parkrun:

34:01   Julie Dumpleton

 May 13, 2018  Posted by at 1:27 pm Results No Responses »
May 062018

Newcastle parkrun:

20:21   Roberto Marzo
21:03   Catherine Young
21:28   Paul Hughes
21:46   Mungai Wairia
21:55   Richard Slack (PB)
22:26   Lucy Dunbar
24:01   Serpil Bulut (PB)
24:17   Dan Edwards
24:57   Claire McKitterick
26:03   Chris Carr
26:29   Alex Anslow
28:52   Marie Slack

Albert parkrun, Middlesbrough:

20:02   Simon Lowe

Prudhoe Riverside parkrun:

22:15   Luke Woodend

Leamington parkrun:

26:17   Rose Hawkswood

Gateshead parkrun:

21:16   David Lydall
22:43   Sumanth Nayak
22:53   Paul Robinson
25:08   Heather Steel

Riverside parkrun:

22:49   David Wotton

Rising Sun parkrun:

25:29   Rachel Stout
27:29   Bill Milbourne

Druridge Bay parkrun:

23:17   Alan Dunning

Fell Foot parkrun, Newby Bridge:

24:00   David Devennie

Bedworth parkrun:

24:51   Dave Kear

 May 6, 2018  Posted by at 5:09 pm Results No Responses »